England wins World Schools Debating Championships 2016

Datum: Jul 28th, 2016
By
Category: international, Turniere
Team England wins the WSDC 2016 - © Dominique Brewing

Team England wins the WSDC 2016 – © Dominique Brewing

The English high school students Rosa Thomas, Archie Hall and Kenza Wilks won the grand final of the WSDC 2016 in Stuttgart as proposition on the motion „This house believes that states should be allowed to pay other states to relocate and settle refugees.“ The English team debated against the opposing Canadian team represented by Dasha Metropolitansky, Rory Flynn and Alex Wu. In the WSD format, teams consist of five students, three of which speak per debate. Therefore, Edward Bracey and Ife Grillo of Team England also became champions and Naz Gocek and Luciano Kwon of Team Canada also became vice champions. During and before the tournament, the teams were trained and accompanied by coaches – Team England was coached by Andrew Fitch and Lewis Iwu and Team Canada by Aislin Flynn.

Team Canada in the final - © Dominique Brewing

Team Canada in the final – © Dominique Brewing

The grand final, which took place publicly in the Liederhalle in Stuttgart, was adjudicated by Rocio Abril (Argentina – Chair), Teck Wei Tan (Singapore), Lisa Schallenberg (Netherlands), Nick Salmon (Australia), Keana Reinu (Malaysia), Paidamwoyo Mangondo (South Africa), Branislav FečkoČegiň (Slovakia), Nicholas Cross (New Zealand) and Mehvesh Mumtaz Ahmed (Pakistan) and had an audience of about 600 viewers. A variety of regional officials attended as guests of honour.

More about the finalist teams can be read in interviews given by Naz Gocek and Kenza Wilks during the tournament, which we published in our Mittwochs-Feature.

The best speaker award for the preliminary rounds went to Eden Blair (Australia), the best ESL (English as a Second Language) speaker award to Kishen Sivabalan (Malaysia) and the best EFL (English as a Foreign Language) speaker award went to Clara Grønborg Juul (Denmark). The best ESL team was Pakistan, the best EFL team was Denmark. In addition to that, Rwanda won the award for the best newly participating nation and Florine Michelle Rombach (Switzerland) the award for best speaker from a newly participating nation.

The top speaker’s list is available online at tabroom.com.

An article with further information about the WSDC 2016 in Germany got published in advance of the event.

lok./jm.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Schlagworte: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Kommentare zu “England wins World Schools Debating Championships 2016”

  1. Manuel J. A. says:

    #debabies

Comments are closed.

Follow Achte Minute





RSS Feed Posts, RSS Feed Comments
Help for mobile version

Credits

Powered by WordPress.

Our Sponsors

Hauptsponsor
Medienpartner

England ist Weltmeister im Schülerdebattieren 2016

Datum: 28. Juli 2016
Redakteur:
Kategorie: [:de]International[:en]international[:], Turniere
Team England wins the WSDC 2016 - © Dominique Brewing

Team England wins the WSDC 2016 – © Dominique Brewing

Beim Finale der World Schools Debating Championships 2016 in Stuttgart gelang es den englischen Schülern Rosa Thomas, Archie Hall und Kenza Wilks, die Debatte zum Thema „Dieses Haus glaubt, dass es Staaten erlaubt sein sollte, andere Staaten dafür zu bezahlen, Flüchtlinge umzuverteilen und aufzunehmen.“ als Pro-Seite für sich zu entscheiden. Die Engländer schlugen damit das Team der Contra-Seite aus Kanada, für das Dasha Metropolitansky, Rory Flynn und Alex Wu redeten. Beim World Schools Debate-Format bestehen Teams immer aus fünf Mitgliedern, von denen pro Debatte jeweils drei reden. Aus diesem Grund können sich auch Edward Bracey und Ife Grillo aus England über den Weltmeister- und Naz Gocek und Luciano Kwon aus Kanada über den Vizeweltmeistertitel freuen. Außerdem reisten beide Teams mit Coaches an: Team England wurde von Andrew Fitch und Lewis Iwu gecoacht, Team Canada von Aislin Flynn.

Team Canada in the final - © Dominique Brewing

Team Canada in the final – © Dominique Brewing

Das Finale, das öffentlich vor etwa 600 Zuschauern in der Liederhalle in Stuttgart stattfand, wurde von Rocio Abril (Argentinien – Hauptjurorin), Teck Wei Tan (Singapur), Lisa Schallenberg (Niederlande), Nick Salmon (Australien), Keana Reinu (Malaysia), Paidamwoyo Mangondo (Südafrika), Branislav FečkoČegiň (Slovakei), Nicholas Cross (Neuseeland) und Mehvesh Mumtaz Ahmed (Pakistan) juriert. Als Ehrengäste waren zudem verschiedene Funktionäre aus der Region anwesend anwesend.

Mehr zu den Finalteams kann man in den Interviews mit Naz Gocek und Kenza Wilks lesen, die diese Woche im Rahmen des Mittwochs-Features auf der Achten Minute erschienen.

Beste Rednerin der Vorrunden wurde Eden Blair (Australia), bester ESL-Redner (Englisch als zweite Sprache) Kishen Sivabalan (Malaysia) und beste EFL-Rednerin (Englisch als Fremdsprache) Clara Grønborg Juul (Dänemark). Bestes ESL-Team wurde Pakistan, bestes EFL-Team Dänemark. Außerdem gab es einen Preis für die beste erstmalig antretende Nation, der an Ruanda verliehen wurde, sowie für die beste Rednerin einer erstmalig antretenden Nation, den Florine Michelle Rombach (Schweiz) erhielt.

Die Listen der besten Redner der Vorrunden sind online auf tabroom.com einsehbar.

Über die Hintergründe der WSDC 2016 in Stuttgart berichtete die Achte Minute im Vorfeld.

lok./jm.

Print Friendly
Schlagworte: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Kommentare zu “England ist Weltmeister im Schülerdebattieren 2016”

  1. Manuel J. A. sagt:

    #debabies

Comments are closed.

Folge der Achten Minute





RSS Feed Artikel, RSS Feed Kommentare
Hilfe zur Mobilversion

Credits

Powered by WordPress.

Unsere Sponsoren

Hauptsponsor
Medienpartner