Posts Tagged ‘ Torges ’

Is the ideal judge a blank slate?

Is the ideal judge a blank slate?Lots of experienced debaters keep discussing what might be the best way to adjudicate in British Parliamentary Style. Today, Stefan Torges wants to discuss the perfect adjudicator's position. ...
Jan 11th, 2017 | By | Category: Jurieren, Mittwochs-Feature | mit 22 Kommentaren

Friedrichshafen/Munich wins first Munich Open

Friedrichshafen/Munich wins first Munich Open[caption id="attachment_30238" align="alignright" width="400"] The winning team of this year's Munich Open: Calyxx Peucker & Philipp Müller - © Jan-Gunther Gosselke[/caption] From October 28th till October 30th, the first Munich Open took place after substantial preparations by conveners Katharina Heinrich and Christian Rausch. CAed by Monica Forman, Ben Shaw and Melda Eren, it extended the former trio of important international tournaments in the German circuit (Berlin IV, Tilbury IV, Vienna IV) by a fourth. Following five preliminary rounds, 'Berlin B' (Stefan Torges & Julian Stastny) , 'Clash and Burn' (Friedrichshafen/Munich, Calyxx Peucker & Philipp Müller), 'Heidelberg Rennehardt' (Benedikt Rennekamp & Martin Reinhardt), 'My minority ...
Nov 1st, 2016 | By | Category: [:de]International[:en]international[:], Turniere | mit 2 Kommentaren

EUDC 2016: The results

EUDC 2016: The results[caption id="attachment_29710" align="alignright" width="344"] View over Warsaw - © Lennart Lokstein[/caption] The European Universities Debating Championship is over. Winner of the ESL-final is Tel Aviv A (Dan Lahav, Ayal Hayut-man) from Closing Government, thus becoming ESL-Champions, whereas the teams Tel Aviv C (Tom Manor, Noam Dahan) from Opening Government, Leiden D (Lisa Schallenberg, Simon Martina-Perez) from Opening Opposition and Leiden A (Floris Holstege, Emma Lucas) from Closing Opposition become vice ESL-Champions. The final's motion was "This house believes that western states should support breakaway regions in former Sovjet states (e.g. East Ukraine l South Ossetia) joining the Russian federation conditional on holding free and ...
Aug 25th, 2016 | By | Category: [:de]International[:en]international[:], Turniere | mit 5 Kommentaren

Debating about Europe: The public debate and final of the 2nd European Debates Conference in Cologne

Debating about Europe: The public debate and final of the 2nd European Debates Conference in CologneAs a prominent part of the thematic focus on Europe, the VDCH – Association of German Speaking University Debating Societies – and two member clubs organized two “European Debates Conferences”. They aim to bring the participants of the other projects and many other debating societies together to jointly debate about controversial political, economic and societal issues. The participants are not only improving their knowledge about Europe and their rhetorical and argumentative skills. They also get to know students from up to 11 other countries and learn about the differences and similarities in their points of view on common challenges. [caption id="attachment_25351" ...
Nov 12th, 2014 | By | Category: [:de]International[:en]international[:], Turniere, VDCH | Comments Off on Debating about Europe: The public debate and final of the 2nd European Debates Conference in Cologne

Israeli Team wins the 2nd European Debates Conference

Israeli Team wins the 2nd European Debates ConferenceDan Lahav and Yair Har-Oz won the Tilbury House IV - the 2nd European Debates Conference. They beat Osnabrück A (Stefan Torges, Jan Dirk Capelle), Maastricht Guess The Novice (Srdjan Miletic, Evelyn Svingen) and BDU Die schweigenden Lämmer (Rebecca Irvine, Philippe Holzhey) in the final, debating the motion "This House would ban anti EU parties from participating in the EU elections."  The final was jugded by Senna Maatoug (Chair), Itay Ben Yair, John Harper, Leo Münstermann and Emma Hartholt. [caption id="attachment_25062" align="alignright" width="320"] The final of the Tilbury House IV 2014. © Achte Minute[/caption] The following teams broke to the semi-finals and ...
Nov 10th, 2014 | By | Category: [:de]International[:en]international[:], Turniere | Comments Off on Israeli Team wins the 2nd European Debates Conference

Novice Tournament in Magdeburg

Novice Tournament in MagdeburgOn the 5th of April, the Debating Society Magdeburg launches their first English speaking novice tournament. For the organisers of the tournament, Felicia Höer and Stefan Torges, this is a large step to establish and facilitate English debating in Germany. "Here in Germany, beginners in English debating have a hard time to get a foot in the door. Most tournaments are far away and quite expensive", Stefan says. Hence, they decided to make a tournament on their own: "We have a lot of English speaking novices in our society and so we thought we could do them a favour and ...
Feb 6th, 2014 | By | Category: [:de]International[:en]international[:], News of debating clubs, Termine, Turniere | Comments Off on Novice Tournament in Magdeburg

Roosevelt Open

Roosevelt OpenOn October 11 and 12 the Roosevelt Debating Society hosted the second edition of the Roosevelt Open. The tournament was held in lovely Middelburg, all the way in the south-west corner of the Netherlands. Among the VDCH-speaker were Stefan Torges, Madlen Stottmeyer, Leonard Muenstermann, Moritz Justen, Kai Dittmann, Jan-Dirk Capelle and Christopher Kroesmann. The tournament was won by Anne Valkering and Rogier Baart. Unfortuantly no VDCH-teams were in the break rounds, but the individual results of the teams and speaker can be found in the individual Speaker Tab and Team Tab. Motions R1: This House would no longer arrest or prosecute ...
Oct 20th, 2013 | By | Category: [:de]International[:en]international[:], Turniere | Comments Off on Roosevelt Open

Follow Achte Minute

RSS Feed Posts, RSS Feed Comments
Help for mobile version


Powered by WordPress.

Our Sponsors