Posts Tagged ‘ Schroeter ’

EUDC 2016: The results

EUDC 2016: The results[caption id="attachment_29710" align="alignright" width="344"] View over Warsaw - © Lennart Lokstein[/caption] The European Universities Debating Championship is over. Winner of the ESL-final is Tel Aviv A (Dan Lahav, Ayal Hayut-man) from Closing Government, thus becoming ESL-Champions, whereas the teams Tel Aviv C (Tom Manor, Noam Dahan) from Opening Government, Leiden D (Lisa Schallenberg, Simon Martina-Perez) from Opening Opposition and Leiden A (Floris Holstege, Emma Lucas) from Closing Opposition become vice ESL-Champions. The final's motion was "This house believes that western states should support breakaway regions in former Sovjet states (e.g. East Ukraine l South Ossetia) joining the Russian federation conditional on holding free and ...
Aug 25th, 2016 | By | Category: International, Turniere | mit 5 Kommentaren

EUDC 2015 – St. Andrews and Tel Aviv are the new European Champions

EUDC 2015 - St. Andrews and Tel Aviv are the new European ChampionsSt. Andrews A (Ruairidh Macintosh, Alex Don) and Tel Aviv B (Stav Singer, Iddan Golomb) are the European Champions 2015.St. Andrews won the debate on "This House would treat the deaths of soldiers as regrettable losses of lifes rather than examples of heroism." out of Closing Opposition against GUU A (Duncan Crowe, Chris Edgar) in Opening Government, UCD LawSoc A (Aodhan Peelo, Paul O'Dwyer) in Opening Opposition and Tel Aviv A (Ayal Hayut-man, Dan Lahav) in Closing Government.The final in the category "English as a Second Language" was won by Tel Aviv B out of Opening Opposition. They debated against ...
Aug 10th, 2015 | By | Category: International, Turniere | Comments Off on EUDC 2015 – St. Andrews and Tel Aviv are the new European Champions

Jacobs Open 2014

Jacobs Open 2014From the 24th to the 26th October 2014, conveners Khanh Van Le and Beenish Waris from the Jacobs University Bremen Debating Society will host the annual Jacobs Open in Bremen, Germany. Henrik Maedler, whom Chief Adjudicator Niels Schröter called the "007 of debating", will also be part of the organisation team. The tournament features four Chief Adjudicators (CAs) and three Independent Adjudicators. The CA-team consists of the following: Peer Klüßendorf, European Universities Debating Championship (EUDC) winner in the category English as a Second Language (ESL); Niels Schröter, EUDC ESL finalist; Cerys Bradley, EUDC semi-finalist; and Bionda Merckens, CA of ...
Jul 17th, 2014 | By | Category: International, News of debating clubs, Termine, Turniere | mit 3 Kommentaren

Be classy and suit up: The Lustrum Leiden Open 2014

Be classy and suit up: The Lustrum Leiden Open 2014Ruairidh Macintosh and Daan Welling from Leiden/St Andrews won the Lustrum Leiden Open 2014. The team with the name “Two Guys” beat 57 other teams from all over the world who attended the Dutch tournament. The decision was very narrow: The judging panel took very long to come to a conclusion, in the end favouring “Two Guys” in a 4-3 split decision. Ruairidh also was the best speaker after the five preliminary rounds, scoring 81.8 points on average and remarkable 89 points in the fifth round. The full team and speaker tab is available online. Martijn Otten, Lisa Schallenberg and Gigi ...
Feb 25th, 2014 | By | Category: International, Turniere | Comments Off on Be classy and suit up: The Lustrum Leiden Open 2014

Lustrum Leiden Open 2014

Lustrum Leiden Open 2014Are you ready? Because this February Leiden Debating Union is bringing you the biggest Dutch tournament since Amsterdam EUDC 2010. Leiden Debating Union was founded in 2004, so this will be their tenth year anniversary. To celebrate that with you, they bring you an English-spoken BP-tournament with five preliminary rounds, seven-minute speeches and break to semis and novice final. Registration is open. Details: Team cap: 68 teams, institutional team cap is five. Reg fee: €30 euro per speaker, judges free. (judge funding possibilities are available) N-1 will apply only for domestic institutions CA Team: CA: Leela Koenig, honorary life member of LDU, her list of speaking and judging ...
Dec 6th, 2013 | By | Category: International, News of debating clubs, Termine, Turniere | Comments Off on Lustrum Leiden Open 2014

Leiden IV: The Summary

Leiden IV: The SummaryThe Leiden IV 2013, from the 22nd to the 23rd of March brought together 53 teams (including teams from DK Wien, Berlin Debating Union and Tilbury House), competing against one another in a pleasant atmosphere, which can be attributed to the formidable organizational effort of the convenors, as well as the social and open-minded attitude of the mostly Dutch contestants. The location of Leiden certainly also played a part though. It can justly be described as an idyllic small university town, perpetuating Dutch stereotypes, concerning their generally friendly and tolerant attitude and a heavy, widespread use of bicycles. The tournament consisted of ...
Apr 8th, 2013 | By | Category: International, Turniere | Comments Off on Leiden IV: The Summary

VDCH-speakers triumph at the ESL competition of SOAS IV 2010

The SOAS Debating Society continues to establish its IV as one of the largest debate competitions in Europe. On October 16th and 17th, 116 teams competed over six preliminary rounds at the School of African an Oriental Studies near King’s Cross in London. For VDCH-debaters, this was a particularly successful weekend. The final was won by Harish Natarjan and Matilda Wnek (Cambridge H). They triumphed over Cambridge E (Maria English and Jack Watson), Loyola (Emily Ravencroft and Bobby Cashen) and KCL A (Daniel Berman and Jordan Anderson). The ESL final was won by the German vice-champion and current exchange student Filip Bubenheimer ...
Oct 21st, 2010 | By | Category: Themen, Turniere | Mit einem Kommentar

New executive board in Potsdam

New executive board in PotsdamDebating club Wortgefechte Potsdam elected a new executive board today. Mathias Hamann was reelected as Chairman. Jana Bachmann was elected as new deputy Chair and Anne Schroeter as assistant board member. Markus Heilig was reelected treasurer. Congratulations and good luck for your work!
Jul 5th, 2010 | By | Category: News of debating clubs | Comments Off on New executive board in Potsdam

Folge der Achten Minute

RSS Feed Artikel, RSS Feed Kommentare
Hilfe zur Mobilversion


Powered by WordPress.

Unsere Sponsoren