Belgrade Euros 2012

Datum: Aug 28th, 2004
Category: Termine, Turniere

The European Universities Debating Championships (EUDC or Euros) are going to be hosted by Belgrade from August 5 to 11. About 200 teams of two are going to compete for the title as EUDC winner. More precisely it’s two titles: The winner of the open final and the winner of ESL, that is English as a Second Language. The language of debate hence is English, the format of course British Parliamentary Style, or BPS.

The team cap is 220 and registration will be the same as for Galway Euros, convenor Milan Vignjević promised in Ireland: 265 Euros per capita. Milan and his OrgComm are supported by a great adjudication team: Chief adjudicator is Art Ward, his deputies are Manos Moschopoulos, Isabelle Loewe, Ben Woolgar, Filip Muki Dobranić und Stephen Boyle. More details on the CA team as well as on the whole project maybe found on Achte Minute.


  • European Universities Debating Championships
  • Belgrade, Serbia
  • August 5 to 11, 2012
  • BPS, English
  • Registration fees 265 Euros
  • Dead line for registration to be anounced
  • Adjudication team: Art Ward, Manos Moschopoulos, Isabelle Loewe, Ben Woolgar, Filip Dobranić, Stephen Boyle
  • Website:

The European Universities Debating Championships (EUDC or Euros) have been held annually since 1999. It was started in Rotterdam where 32 teams of two competed for the title. For the records: In Amsterdam, 192 teams competed for the very same title in 2010, in Galway it was 180 teams. Format has ever since been British Parliamentary Style (BPS), language of debate is English. Debaters from all over Europe as well as from Israel and Qatar take part in Euros and compete with each other in two categories: the open break (mostly for native speakers) and “English as a Second Language” (ESL).There is a good chance a team may break in the two categories as happened to be the case with Tel Aviv A this year: They broke first in the ESL break and sixth in the open break.

Current champions are Ben Woolgar and Hugh Burns (Oxford), ESL champions are Sella and Omer Nevo, two brothers from Tel Aviv University. This year’s Euros were held in Galway, located at the western coast of Ireland, from 7 to 13 August. Chief adjudicator was Ruth Faller (Ireland), her deputies wereShengwu Li (Singapore), Simone van Elk (The Netherlands), Steven Nolan (Ireland) and Yoni Cohen Idov (Israel). Isabelle Loewe from Debattierclub Bonn and Tony Murphy (Ireland) served as equity officers. Galway’s tabmaster was Harry McEvansoneya, an Irish as well. During the Euros, the EUDC Council assembled and decided for instance about the host of next year’s championship. Belgrade (Serbia) was assigned hosting the European Universities Debating Championships 2012, from August 5 to 11.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Schlagworte: , ,

Follow Achte Minute

RSS Feed Posts, RSS Feed Comments
Help for mobile version


Powered by WordPress.

Our Sponsors