Galway Euros 2011: Day Zero

Datum: 7. August 2011
Kategorie: Turniere

First things first: If you don’t like Irish weather – just wait 15 minutes. It’ll be better after that. And then again, after 15 minutes, it’ll be worse than ever. And so on. That is only made up to by the people. They are amazingly friendly. You cannot get lost even if you are drunk as hell… there are people everywhere to help you. Only obstacle: The Irish accent. As soon as you get used to it, you’re fine. It doesn’t matter if you’re booked for the finals at Euros or if you’re happy to fill seven minutes – all people belong together at Galway.

So day zero has started. Reception, registration, check-in to accommodation – all went smoothly. A very brief official opening was highlighted by the speech of Michael D. Higgins, former mayor of Galway, president of the Labour party and obviously a debater himself – a fact you could recognise in every single word. Standing ovations payed him due respect.We’re looking forward to the first original debaters who will deliver a speech at the opening ceremony of German Nationals. So, guys, become famous and be our honorary guest!

The official opening was over quickly, debaters were given the chance to queue for barbecue. Free wine made the waiting easy.And to the contrary of the beginning of this bit: The weather is fine, no umbrellas necessary. So far. Everybody loves European debaters, even the weather gods.

By the way: Besides numerous debaters from all across Europe, we’ve spotted German language debaters from Berlin, Münster, Mainz, Potsdam, Stuttgart, Greifswald, Vienna and even two Germans who are debating for Sciences Po, Paris. And important stuff is going on: Belgrade just presented their bid for next year’s Euros at the pre-Council.

Your Achte Minute correspondents are now delving into the party that is going on around here in Galway, chit-chatting away with and greeting debaters from all over the world in fact, since there are judges here from Canada, South Africa and the US as well. Follow us on Twitter for the occasional gossip and, well, yes, hard facts.

The European Universities Debating Championships (EUDC or Euros) have been held annually since 1999. It was started in Rotterdam where 32 teams of two competed for the title. For the records: In Amsterdam, 192 teams competed for the very same title in 2010. Format has ever since been British Parliamentary Style(BPS), language of debate is English. Debaters from all over Europe and Israel take part in Euros and compete with each other in two categories: the open break (for native speakers) and “English as a Second Language” (ESL). Current champions are Eoghan Casey and Patrick Rooney (Kings Inn), ESL champions are Maja Cimerman and Filip Dobranic from Ljubljana. This year’s Euros will be held in Galway, Ireland, from 7 to 13 August. Chief adjudicator is Ruth Faller (Ireland), her deputies are Shengwu Li (Singapore), Simone van Elk (The Netherlands), Steven Nolan (Ireland) and Yoni Cohen Idov (Israel). Isabelle Loewe from Debattierclub Bonn and Tony Murphy (Ireland) will be equity officers. Galway’s tabmaster is Harry McEvansoneya, an Irish as well. During the Euros, the EUDC Council will sit and for instance decide about the host of next year’s championship. Currently, Belgrade (Serbia) is bidding for staging the European Universities Debating Championships 2012.

Thanks for help: Johannes Haug.

Note from the editor: During Galway, we’ll be publishing mostly in English only. Thanks for understanding.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Schlagworte: , , , , , , , ,

Folge der Achten Minute

RSS Feed Artikel, RSS Feed Kommentare
Hilfe zur Mobilversion


Powered by WordPress.

Unsere Sponsoren